top of page

The power of the mind over depression -read - this is not contagious


I have just watched this amazing talk by Kelly Brogan- Depression & Anxiety Tips for Women (and men) and I have to say, I feel this is a small miracle that I have found her work. I sincerely encourage both sufferers and non-sufferers to click on this link and watch and also hope more people start to listen to what she is saying.

It is said, 1 in 4 people are sufferers of Depression

At the same time, it's said that 80% of people are unhappy in their jobs - wouldn't you feel depressed if you were unhappy at work? Especially considering this equates to 50% of your total waking hours during any given working day. Well I certainly would and I actually did.

I remember years ago starting out in my career. I was effectively demoted as someone who was more qualified than me stepped into my shoes. I was given work to do that was not suited to me at all. Being a people's person too, I found myself shut inside a little office, and hardly saw anyone, not good for someone with influencing Strengths. At the same time my Mum left to live back to the UK. It was a very challenging time in my life and, yes, I felt like I was going to break down, but isn't that quite normal? If we were meant to be perfect, our name would be God. I worked through this difficult time with the support of my now, husband, and is family.

On top of the support, I took the brave decision to leave that job and start my own first business (watch Scott Dinsmore's talk on how to find the work you love). I went on to be involved in many small businesses and have so enjoyed the autonomy of being my own boss. Interestingly enough, through my Strengths based Coaching, all these years later, it turns out I have all the natural talents and strengths that lend themselves to being an Entrepreneur and I positively love what I do.

My feeling is, if we are doing that which we love, yes, we'll encounter adversity in our lives, but it will be that much easier to deal with the adversity when we are in a positive frame of mind. Doing what you enjoy, gives you this.

As an aside, I do not know a lot about depression, so i'm not trying at all to underestimate how debilitating this can be, or patronise anyone . However, I have seen my own Mother go from a strong human being, to devastating deterioration, and have been looking for answers for years. So my hat is off to you Dr Brogan for adding to a conversation that my Strategic thinking strengths engage in daily. I will be following you closely.

The power of the mind over depression - really quite interesting - would welcome any comments.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page